HomePrint PageFont SizeDecrease font size Reset font size Increase font size
Documents and Forms
Contact Us

Australia Day Awards

External Awards

Citizen of the Year Awards 2017 Australia Day council logo


Nominations for the 2018 Citizen of the Year awards are now closed.

Do you know someone who makes the Light community a better place?

Each year the Citizen of the Year Awards are proudly presented by Light Regional Council with support from the Australia Day Council of South Australia. The awards recognise local individuals and groups who have made outstanding contributions to our community. 

Nominations can be made in four categories:

  • Citizen of the Year
  • Young Citizen of the Year (must be under 30 years of age on 26 January)
  • Community Event of the Year (for the most outstanding community event)
  • Community Project of the Year (for the most outstanding community project)

Awards will be presented at the Australia Day event on 26 January. In 2018 the Roseworthy community will host the Australia Day Breakfast event, and the Waskeys community in 2019.


To nominate an individual or group for the 2019 awards, read the Nomination Guidelines (see below) and complete the Australia Day Nomination Form (see below) Nomination Forms are also available from the libraries and council offices from 1st October annually.

Nominations should be forwarded to:

Email: light@light.sa.gov.au

Mail: PO Box 72 Kapunda SA 5373

In-Person: 93 Main St Kapunda OR 12 Hanson St Freeling

For more information, contact Lorinda Bayley, Community Development Officer on 8525 3200 or lbayley@light.sa.gov.au

Further details about the Citizen of the Year Awards program can be found on the website www.citizenoftheyear.com.au

Citizen of the Year Award Nomination Guidelines

Citizen of the Year Nomination Forms

Congratulations to our 2016 Australia Day Award winners!

Australian of The Year 2016 Recipients

The Citizen of the Year - Garry Shearing
Young Citizen of the Year – Lily Armstrong
Community Event of the Year - Centenary of ANZAC (Freeling RSL)

Refugee Welcome Zone declaration

Mayor Bill Obrien signs the Refugee Welcome Zone declaration in front of Lily Armstrong



Light Regional Council
93 Main Street (PO Box 72)
Kapunda SA 5373
Tel: (08) 8525 3200 | Fax: (08) 8566 3262